The Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Scholarship, Fellowship, and Leadership Program has announced recipients of the 2018 Herb Kohl Foundation awards for students, teachers, and principals.

Awards in the amount of $6,000 are being made to 100 teachers, 16 principals, and their schools, and $10,000 scholarships will be given to 191 graduating high school students.

In our area of northwest Wisconsin, the winners will be honored with a banquet on Sunday, April 22 at Chippewa Falls Middle Schools.

2018 High School Student Excellence Scholarships

The following northwest Wisconsin high school students are Excellence Scholarship recipients. They have demonstrated excellence in the academic arena and high motivation to achieve. 

The students have displayed a broad range of activity and leadership outside the academic setting and have shown strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond.

In our area of northwest Wisconsin, the 2018 winners are: 

  • St. Croix Falls High School — Samuel Butler of Balsam Lake, Katherine Herrick of Cushing, Alaina Driscoll, Grace Klein and Addie McCurdy, all of St. Croix Falls.
  • Ladysmith High School — Vanessa Loe of Ladysmith
  • Hayward High School —Rachel Halberg of Hayward

2018 High School Student Initiative Scholarships

Initiative Scholarship recipients are chosen by their schools and have demonstrated exceptional initiative in the classroom. They have shown strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond, but have not yet received other academic-based scholarships. 

In our area of northwest Wisconsin, the 2018 winners are: 

  • Chetek-Weyerhaeuser High School, Bryce Aherns of Chetek.
  • Turtle Lake High School, Adam Jenkinson of Turtle Lake
  • Clear Lake High School, Sean Singh of Clear Lake 

2018 Teacher Fellows 

Fellowship recipients are educators who have been chosen for their superior ability to inspire a love of learning in their students, their ability to motivate others, and their leadership and service within and outside the classroom.

In our area of northwest Wisconsin, the 2018 winners are: 

  • Susan Olson-Rosenbush, Spooner High School
  • Michael Wilson, Saint Croix Falls High School

Selection Process

Excellence Scholarship, Fellowship, and Leadership Award recipients are selected by a statewide committee composed of civic leaders, and representatives of education-related associations and the program’s co-sponsors:

  • The Wisconsin Newspaper Association Foundation
  • Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
  • Wisconsin Council of Religious and Independent Schools (WCRIS)
  • Regional Cooperative Educational Service Agencies (CESAs)
  • The Association of Wisconsin School Administrators
  • The Wisconsin Parents Association. 

Read the full list of recipients HERE (PDF).

Share This Article