Behavioral Health Grants Awarded To 40 Wisconsin School Districts

121 schools in 31 counties benefit

Behavioral Health Grants Awarded To 40 Wisconsin School Districts

Press Release

Marshfield Clinic Health System and Security Health Plan have announced recipients of the b.e.s.t. Grant for Schools.

b.e.s.t. ® (Behavioral Emotional Social Traits) is an on-line screening tool that is designed to help educators build the emotional health of students and help identify students who may need additional, positive behavioral support. Developed by School Psychologist Eric P. Hartwig, Ph.D., the tool provides educators with recommended actions to take with students based on their behaviors.

“Nearly all counties in the state have identified emotional well-being as a health priority,” said Allison Machtan, director of community health for the Health System. “Providing the b.e.s.t. screening tool to our schools is one way Marshfield Clinic Health System is improving emotional health. Year after year b.e.s.t. has a positive impact on students and it’s especially important now because of the emotional health challenges due to the COVID-19 pandemic.”

In the 2020-2021 school year, 121 schools in 31 counties will benefit from the grant, which provides technical support, bi-annual screenings for students, and training, consultation and support. The Health System and Security Health Plan are supporting the implementation of b.e.s.t. during the 2020-2021 school year in the following districts:

  • Antigo Unified School District
  • Arbor Vitae Woodruff (AV-W)
  • Augusta Area School District
  • Berlin Area School District
  • Bruce School District
  • Chequamegon School District
  • Chilton Public School District
  • Chippewa Falls Area Unified School District
  • Columbus Catholic Schools
  • Cumberland School District
  • D.C. Everest Area School District
  • Durand-Arkansaw School District
  • Edgar School District
  • Lac Du Flambeau Public School
  • Lake Holcombe
  • Marathon City School District
  • Marathon County Child Development Agency (MCCDA) Head Start
  • Minocqua J1 School District
  • North Lakeland School District
  • Northland Pines
  • Osseo Fairchild School District
  • Port Edwards School District
  • Regis Catholic Schools
  • Rosholt School District
  • School District of Athens
  • School District of Fall Creek
  • School District of Flambeau
  • School District of Mondovi
  • School District of Tomahawk
  • School District of Waupaca
  • Spencer Public Schools
  • Stevens Point Area Public School District
  • Stratford School District
  • Three Lakes School District
  • Turtle Lake School District
  • Wausau School District
  • Webster School District
  • Wild Rose School District
  • Wisconsin Heights School District
  • Wisconsin Rapids Public Schools

Last Update: Aug 31, 2020 10:40 am CDT

Posted In


Share This Article