WASHINGTON D.C. -- The United States Senate acquitted former U.S. President Donald Trump today, Saturday, February 13, 2021, for his role in the deadly assault on the U.S. Captol.

The Senate vote of 57-43 fell short of the two-thirds majority needed to convict Trump.

Seven Republicans broke ranks and voted to convict Trump: Richard Burr of North Carolina, Bill Cassidy of Louisiana, Susan Collins of Maine, Lisa Murkowski of Alaska, Mitt Romney of Utah, Ben Sasse of Nebraska and Pat Toomey of Pennsylvania.

Read the full story from Rueters.

Last Update: Feb 14, 2021 8:27 am CST

Share This Article