It’s that time of the year again, and a sign that winter is coming, as Daylight Saving Time ends at 2a Sunday, November 7, 2021.

On Sunday, at 2a, clocks should be turned backward one hour to 1a. As a result, sunrise and sunset will be about 1 hour earlier than the day before, so will be seeing more light in the morning.

In the U.S., Daylight Saving Time was first introduced in 1918 when President Woodrow Wilson. The U.S. Congress extended DST to a period of ten months in 1974 and eight months in 1975. In 2005, Congress changed Daylight Saving Time to begin on the second Sunday of March and end on the first Sunday of November.

In the last four years, 19 states have enacted legislation or passed resolutions to provide for year-round daylight saving time, if Congress were to allow such a change, and in some cases, if surrounding states enact the same legislation. Because federal law does not currently allow full-time DST, Congress would have to act before states could adopt changes, according to the National Conference of State Legislators.

The 19 states are:

  • Alabama, Georgia, Minnesota, Mississippi, and Montana (2021).
  • Idaho, Louisiana, Ohio (resolution), South Carolina, Utah, and Wyoming (2020).
  • Arkansas, Delaware, Maine, Oregon, Tennessee, and Washington (2019).
  • Florida (2018; California voters also authorized such a change that year, but legislative action is pending).
  • Some states have commissioned studies on the topic including Massachusetts (2017) and Maine (2021).

States With Enacted Legislation/Resolutions to Provide for Year-Round Daylight Saving Time

Last Update: Nov 06, 2021 11:28 am CDT

Posted In

Share This Article