Polk-Burnett Awards $56,250 in Community Service Scholarships

Polk-Burnett Awards $56,250 in Community Service Scholarships

CENTURIA –Polk-Burnett Electric Cooperative awarded $56,250 to the sons and daughters of co-op members in Class of 2018 through its Community Service Scholarship program. Forty-five scholarship recipients will each receive $1,250 to continue their education after high school.

“Polk-Burnett’s scholarship program is unique because it is based on community service, not academic grades, athletic performance or financial need,” said Joan O’Fallon, communications director for the cooperative.  “This is an opportunity to recognize young people who make a difference in the lives of others, according to our co-op principles. We had an outstanding group of candidates this year. We thank all who applied and appreciate their community service.”

Polk-Burnett’s Community Service Scholarship recipients for 2018 are:

Co-op District 1

  1. Brett Carlson, Osceola High School
  2. Luke Ekstrom, Osceola High School
  3. Reagan Ekstrom, Osceola High School
  4. Brett Johnson, Amery High School
  5. Colter White, Osceola High School

Co-op District 2

  1. Sawyer Brice, St. Croix Falls High School
  2. Katie Herrick, St. Croix Falls High School
  3. Aaron Riley, St. Croix Falls High School
  4. Addie McCurdy, St. Croix Falls High School
  5. Claire Scharfenberg, St. Croix Falls High School
  6. Isabelle Jensen, Luck High School
  7. Madison Smith, St. Croix Falls High School

Co-op District 3

  1. Bennett Hellie, Amery High School
  2. Mitchell Kastanek, Amery High School
  3. Madeline Anderson, Clear Lake High School
  4. Mason Henke, Amery High School
  5. Alex Thomsen, Amery High School
  6. Sawyer Dodge, Amery High School
  7. Hunter Kuhn, Amery High School 

Co-op District 4

  1. Asher Cress, Unity High School
  2. Briana Peterson, Unity High School
  3. Kalli Christenson, St. Croix Falls High School

Co-op District 5

  1. Lauren Hafner, Stillwater High School
  2. Rachel Harriman, Stillwater High School
  3. Brienna Johnson, Stillwater High School
  4. Skyler Ruetz, Cumberland High School
  5. Skylar Kazmierski, St. Croix Falls High School

Co-op District 6

  1. Leigha Priske-Olson, Siren High School
  2. Trent Kuechenmeister, Frederic High School
  3. Trevor Vollendorf, Grantsburg High School
  4. Ciara DeLozier, Unity High School
  5. Greta Johnson, Siren High School

Co-op District 7

  1. David Saly, Minneapolis-Washburn High School
  2. Damon Venner, O’Gorman Catholic School
  3. Jason Kraus, Academy of Holy Angels
  4. Diana Hoernemann, Mound Westonka High School
  5. Joelle Hoernemann, Mound Westonka High School

Co-op District 8

  1. Joseph Formanek, Webster High School
  2. Ben Weber, Woodbury High School
  3. Lily Jansa, Centennial High School  

Co-op District 9

  1. Troy Woodman, Webster High School
  2. Amy Stanford, Siren High School
  3. Rebecca Drohman, Grantsburg High School
  4. Kalvin Watt, Grantsburg High School
  5. Jenna Burton, Frederic High School

Since 1987, Polk-Burnett has awarded more than $655,000 to high school seniors. Scholarship recipients demonstrate community service and their parents are members of the co-op.

Polk-Burnett’s scholarship program does not affect electric rates; it is funded with unclaimed capital credits that otherwise would be forfeited to the state.

For more information, visit polkburnett.com 

Last Update: May 04, 2018 1:44 pm CDT

Posted In

Share This Article