The Spooner Area Youth Hockey Association is pleased to announce that 5 (five) SAYHA skaters were chosen to participate in The Boys Kohlman Cup Tournament March 27th and 28th, 2021 in Hudson, Wisconsin and The Girls Kohlman Cup Tournament April 10th and 11th in Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin!

The Kohlman Cup is limited exclusively to Tier II Wisconsin youth players with the birth years of 2008 and 2009. Each player did a try out for our region - Region I. Region I extends from Superior down to Chippewa Falls, WI. Region I will play other regional teams during the Kohlman Cup Tournaments.

During the tournaments an All-Tournament team will be selected in each age group of the Kohlman Cup. Those players will be members of Wisconsin Selects, and will play the Northern Exposure AAA tournament July 16-18, 2021 in Duluth, Minnesota.

Masen Hopwood, Olivia Webster, Daulton Brummond, Nolen Larson and Riley Romsos were given the news last week that they had been chosen to participate in the Kohlman Cup Region I teams.

Masen Hopwood is a 2008 Forward and will participate in the Boys Kohlman Cup Tournament

Olivia Webster is a 2008 Forward and will play in Girls Kohlman Cup Tournament

Dalton Brummond is a 2009 Defensemen and will participate in the Boys Kohlman Cup Tournament

Nolen Larson is a 2009  Defensemen and will participate in the Boys Kohlman Cup Tournament

Riley Romsos is a 2009 Goalie and will participate in the Boys Kohlman Cup Tournament.

The 2009 and 2008 Regional All-Star teams will participate in a Round Robin tournament that will culminate in the Championship Game on Sunday. The winning team will have their names inscribed on the Kohlman Cup trophy that will be displayed in the Wisconsin Hockey Hall of Fame in Eagle River, Wisconsin. (see bracket below)

The Kohlman Cup is named in honor of the late Don Kohlman.  Mr. Kohlman was longtime member of the Wisconsin Ameatuer Hockey Association (WAHA) Board of Directors and was instrumental in the creation of the WAHA CUP in 2004. Many former Kohlman Cup participants are now playing professional hockey:

  • Aaron Harstad (ECHL)
  • Mitch Hults (ECHL)
  • Michael Kapla (AHL)
  • Jake Kupsky (ECHL)
  • Eddie Matsushima (ECHL)
  • Jake McCabe (Buffalo Sabres)
  • Casey Nelson (retired, Buffalo Sabres)

For more information on the Kohlman Cup Tournaments, visit

WAHA Cup Brackets

View/Download PDF

Last Update: Mar 26, 2021 9:25 am CDT

Posted In


Share This Article