Press Release

The Sheriff’s Department would like to announce the formation of the Citizen Action and Advisory Team.

The team, which will advise and help the Sheriff, the department and the community on different issues, consists of 14 members.

  • Chris Allen
  • Thomas Bearheart
  • Anna DeMers
  • Colleen Erb
  • Dan Erickson
  • Heavan Hightower
  • Mary Hoeft
  • Clare Janty
  • ShariAnn Katterhagen
  • Sheena Mann
  • Peter Muschinske
  • Otieno Oduor
  • Nikki Thompson
  • Sue Zahrbock

Eight of these people were chosen by the Sheriff from 38 applications and then those 8 choose the remainder of the team. The team will now start meeting monthly starting in January to discuss topics in the community that can help all of us, including our law enforcement, make Barron County even better.

Some of the topics include:

  • Domestic Abuse-Embrace
  • Race-Diversity
  • Drugs and Alcohol
  • Homelessness
  • Law Enforcement - Hiring, Use of force, Procedures
  • And others as the need arises.

The plan of the group is to pick a topic, educate themselves on it, with the use of small groups including inviting many of the others who wanted to join this team to help, and then educate the community or law enforcement on the issue to help us all grow. The plan is to continue to let people know what the group is doing through press release and hosting events.

I want to thank all the people who applied to serve on this team and look forward to tackling any issue from different perspectives and putting Barron County ahead of the curve when it come addressing issues and formulating solutions.

- Per Chris Fitzgerald, Barron County Sheriff

Last Update: Dec 15, 2020 12:28 pm CST

Posted In


Share This Article