In an election on June 8, 2019, members of the St. Croix Tribe of Chippewa elected to replace four of the five council members (see below for results). reported on April 18, 2019, that the National Indian Gaming Commission (NIGC) had issued a Notice of Notice of Violation (NOV) stating that the St. Croix Chippewa Indians of Wisconsin, headquartered in Burnett County, Wisconsin, is in violation of the Indian Gaming Regulatory Act (IGRA), NIGC regulations, and its tribal gaming ordinance, because the Tribe used net gaming revenue for purposes other than those permitted. Click here to read the full story.

On April 24, 2019, reported about another situation that has been ongoing over the last few years involving the St. Croix Tribe of Chippewa and allegations by the St. Croix Five, who state that they were illegally disenrolled more than once, have been fighting for the last 30 years to get their membership reinstated. You can read that story by clicking here.

On May 12, 2019, reported that a Notice of Proposed Civil Fine Assessment has been issued to the St. Croix Chippewa Indians, headquartered in Burnett County, Wisconsin. Jonodev Chadhuri, Chairman of the National Indian Gaming Commission, proposed the total fines to be $5.5 Million. The full story can be found here.

Election Results:

Note: Winners highlighted in bold; new members elected highlighted w/ asterisk*

Sand Lake

  • Francis Songetay 203*
  • Bill Reynolds 178*
  • Jennifer Bearheart 174
  • Jeff Taylor 97
  • Conrad St. John 85
  • Lisa Reynolds 71
  • Jay Emery 50
  • Lewis Taylor 49


  • Bev Benjamin 196*
  • John Bearhart 190
  • Crystal Petersen 82

Round Lake

  • Susan Lowe 216
  • Georgia Cobenais 133
  • Scott Lowe 69
  • Carmen Bugg 60

Maple Plain

  • Thomas Fowler 144*
  • Joyce Long 110
  • Karen Washington 101
  • Stuart Bearheart 66
  • Amanda Awonohopay 47
  • Richard Westling 8

Election may be contested through the close of business Friday June 14th.

Share This Article